Saturday, 1 February 2014


The University of Hong Kong (informally known as HKU or Hong Kong University) is a public research university located in Pokfulam, Hong Kong.
Today HKU has 10 faculties with international students comprising around 24% of the student population. It exhibits strength in scholarly research and teaching of humanitieslawpolitical sciencesbiological sciences and medicine. It was the first team in the world which successfully isolated the corona virus, the causative agent of SARS, and has the most Academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Engineering (15) of any institution of the territory. The language of instruction is English, except when learning a particular language is an objective of the course.
In 2012, the university moved to a four-year undergraduate curriculum in accordance with the Hong Kong government's education policy.
Faculties, schools and departments:
The university comprises ten faculties, one graduate school and a number of non-faculty academic units, which provide various study programmes and courses for students. The medium of instruction in classes is English.
  • Faculty of Architecture
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Business and Economics
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Law
  • Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Graduate School

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Abbreviation: HKUST) is a public research university situated at the northern part of Clear Water Bay Peninsula in Sai Kung District, New Territories, Hong Kong, occupying a site overlooking Port Shelter in Tai Po Tsai.
It is one of the nine universities and among the eight institutions granted by University Grants Committee in the territory. The University currently consists of five Schools, namely Business & Management, Sciences, Humanities & Social Science, Engineering, and the Fok Ying Tung Graduate School. The prior three provide both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes while the Humanities School offers mainly graduate courses, delivering liberal arts education to other undergraduates around the institution, though it launched its first and sole Bachelor's degree in 2011. HKUST has been consistently viewed as one of the top three research universities in Hong Kong, along with The University of Hong Kong and The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

The Chinese University of Hong Kong (abbreviated CUHK and Chinese University in English; 中大, Zung1-daai6 in Cantonese and Zhōngdà in Putonghua) is a public research university in Shatin, New Territories, Hong Kong.
Formally established in 1963 by a charter granted by the Legislative Council of Hong Kong, it is the territory's second oldest institution of higher learning and only collegiate university. It is originally evolved from three existing colleges, the oldest of which was founded in 1949. These colleges themselves were formed also by merging universities that had existed in mainland China. The University has developed rapidly afterwards with the establishment of various academic departments and new colleges.
Today, CUHK is organized into nine constituent colleges and eight academic faculties. Despite the name of the University, English is the main language of instruction, with Cantonese and Mandarin Chinese being retained only by a minority of departments. As of 2013, four Nobel Laureates are associated with CUHK. It is also the only tertiary institution in the territory to have winners of the Nobel Prize, Turing Award, Fields Medal and Veblen Prize as faculty in residence.

City University of Hong Kong (Abbreviation: CityU; Chinese: 香港城市大學) is a public research university located in Tat Chee Avenue, Kowloon Tong, Kowloon which was originally founded in 1984 as City Polytechnic of Hong Kong and became a fully accredited university later in 1994.
CityU offers over 50 bachelor's degree programmes within the three Colleges: Business, Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Science and Engineering, and the School of Creative Media and School of Law. Postgraduate degree programmes are offered by the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies.

Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Abbreviation: PolyU, Chinese: 香港理工大學) is a university in Hong Kong whose teaching units are grouped under six faculties and two schools: Faculty of Applied Science and Textiles, Faculty of Business, Faculty of Construction & Environment, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Health & Social Sciences, Faculty of Humanities, alongside with the School of Design and the School of Hotel and Tourism Management.
The current President of the University is Prof. Timothy W. Ton. Prof. Chung-Kwong Poon retired on 31 December 2008 and the University Council decided to confer the title of "President Emeritus" on him in recognition of his dedicated and distinguished service to the University.



Post a comment